Install AWS CLI on Ubuntu

Pablo Ezequiel Inchausti
2 min readJan 13, 2017

Do you need the command line AWS CLI on your ubuntu instance? I you are reading it, I guess so… I will copy the steps that I will have to do to install the AWS CLI con my ubuntu instance:

Official doc:

http://docs.aws.amazon.com/cli/latest/userguide/installing.html

I will follow the official doc that recommend to use pip to install the AWS CLI

Install the AWS CLI Using Pip

Install python

sudo apt-get install python2.7
sudo apt-get install python2.7
python2.7

Install pip

$ curl -O https://bootstrap.pypa.io/get-pip.py

$ sudo python2.7 get-pip.py

Install the AWS CLI Using pip

$ sudo pip install awscli

sudo pip install awscli

Test the AWS CLI Installation

$ aws help

And ok! we have AWS CLI installed on ubuntu

Configura AWS CLI

Next step is configure AWS CLI

$ aws configure

I had to create again the access key and the secret key:

to configure

$ aws configure

to update

$ aws configure

With AWS CLI installed we can continue with other Docker tutorials

--

--

Pablo Ezequiel Inchausti

#cloud . #mobile ~} Sharing IT while learning It! ... Opinions are for my own